LMIC radio

News / Aktualitātes

Latvian Grand Music Awards handed out

13. March, 2024

On the evening of March 12, the annual Latian Grand Music Award ceremony took place.

Established in 1993, the Grand Music Award is the highest state prize in the field of music.

Awards in seven categories were handed out, as well as lifetime contribution awards, which went to composer Vilnis Šmīdbergs and pianist and teacher Arnis Zandmanis.

  • The Young Musician of the Year award went to singer Katrīna Paula Felsberga, while the award for Outstanding Interpretation went to violist Ilze Kļava.
  • The jury of the Grand Music Award recognized the symphonic vision "Mysterious Gardem/Noslēpumainais dārzs" by composer Juris Karlsons as the best new work of the year.
  • The prize for the chamber performance of the year to the poetry performance "Yellow Pavement/Dzeltens trotuārs" by composer Anna Veismane.
  • The Concert of the Year award went to the concert performance of Richard Wagner's opera "Siegfried", which took place on July 29 at the Cēsis Concert Hall.
  • The Ensemble of the Year award went to Trio Palladio - Eva Bindere, Kristīne Blaumane and Reinis Zariņš.
  • The Latvian Radio Big Band was awarded the Grand Music Award for outstanding performance throughout the year.