LMIC radio

Ādolfs Skulte, Symphonies Nos. 5 & 9


Latvian National Symphony Orchestra
Aleksandrs Viļumanis - conductor


Latvian composers



Release date



Ādolfs Skulte

Symphony No. 5

Ādolfs Skulte

Symphony No. 9


LMIC 021

“In the music of Ādolfs Skulte, a classical mind, a logical strictness, and an academic formal seriousness coexists with a fiery sense of orchestral color, an impulsive dancingness, and a sensuous concreteness, which is revealed throughout his work in an almost painterly artistic thinking, an almost objectively captured sound painting. Skulte represents that constellation of twentieth-century composers whose objective predisposition demanded a plastic beauty, mutability, and an aesthetic vision of great integrity – as opposed to stress-filled everyday life, tense psychologization and expressiveness. Overall, this objective predisposition was characteristic of the new national school, as seen in the works of Aram Khachaturian, Pancho Vladigerov, Karol Szymanowski, Ottorino Respighi, and Manuel de Falla.”

Ingrīda Zemzare, Ph.D.