LMIC radio

Marģeris Zariņš


Kremerata Baltica
Ieva Parša - mezzo-soprano
Aigars Reinis - organ
Andris Veismanis - conductor


Latvian composers



Release date



Marģeris Zariņš

"Partita in Baroque Style"

Marģeris Zariņš

"Carmina antica"

Marģeris Zariņš

Concerto No.1 for organ and chamber orchestra "Concerto triptichon"

Marģeris Zariņš

Concerto No. 2 for organ and chamber Orchestra "Concerto Triptichon"

Marģeris Zariņš Kristaps Pētersons

"Four Japanese miniatures" (Marģeris Zariņš, Kristaps Pētersons)


LMIC 128
So, the vitality and consistent polystylistics of Zariņš’ music did not necessarily exclude the most serious range of emotions. He was cheerful, charismatic, lightly ironic, witty; but at the same time, he was also provocative. The grotesque twists and turns in his work reveal the drama of human experience and point to a reality that is harsh, unpredictable and anti- human. Let us recall the question posed by Burgess (or, for that matter, Arendt) about the genesis of violence: “What gets into you all? We study the problem and we’ve been studying it for damn well near a century, yes, but we get no further with our studies.” Let us recall the unpleasant surprise of Lem’s scientists studying Solaris when they discover that its intelligent ocean has in fact decided to experiment on the scientists themselves.

Armands Znotiņš