Tālivaldis Ķeniņš


Eva Bindere - violin
Mikus Bāliņš - percussion
Elvijs Endelis - percussion
Elīna Endzele - percussion
Guntars Freibergs - percussion
Ernests Mediņš - percussion
Latvian National Symphony Orchestra
Andris Poga - conductor


Latvian composers



Tālivaldis Ķeniņš

Violin Concerto

Tālivaldis Ķeniņš

Concerto for Five Percussionists and Orchestra

Tālivaldis Ķeniņš

Beatae voces tenebrae


LMIC 088

Tālivaldis ĶENIŅŠ is one of the most notable Latvian composers – a neo-romantic, harsh, full of life, a technical virtuoso. Born in Latvia and having studied in France, he lived in Canada for the remainder of his life. Ķeniņš is one of Canada’s most performed composers. He was a long-time lecturer in the Faculty of Music at the University of Toronto and a full professor since 1973. He was active in the Canadian League of Composers, serving as its president for two years. He also participated in radio broadcasts and served as a jury member for countless competitions. Ķeniņš’ contributions have been important from both the academic and practical aspect and have been recognised by the university leadership as well as the Government of Canada.

Conductor Andris Poga: “Ķeniņš’ trademark is diversity – touches of modernism, expressionism and also jazz permeate most of his compositions, yet each of them is autonomous and fairly precisely defined in its intent. The Concerto for 5 Percussionists is like a bright, attractive performance; the Concerto for Violin features a fully developed concertante principle yet also has a very powerful narrative; Beatae voces tenebrae sounds like a contemplative poem and confirms Ķeniņš’ loyalty to Bach, one of the grandest of geniuses.”

Test alt tekst